Calling me North

Standard

I’ll never live on Long Island, NY again. Too many memories, bad and good. I’ve picked a place upstate, a safe place, a beautiful place where I’ve found my Victorian house with its stained glass windows and turret room that will of course be my writing room. I lived in North Carolina until I was 30. Then I met a man and moved to Long Island for six years. Then I came home, imagining that I would make a new life…but I came “home” to teapartycarolina.

I ended up working from home as a freelance writer. It was better than the other job offers. I mean, none of them offered benefits but at least working from home, exchanging only emails with my boss and clients, I was allowed to feel like a human being. I work when I want. I pick the projects. But I can’t spend the rest of my life here in this decomposing joke of what used to be my home state.

Thom Tillis. We have Thom Tillis, running for the North Carolina Senate. Thom Tillis believes that there should be no minimum wage in North Carolina. Think about that for a moment. Thom Tillis wants a slave workforce in North Carolina. Thom Tillis wants North Carolina to be his personal plantation. Go google it. I’m not going to do it for you. You should have to look it up yourself and read the various sources, not just the one I pick.

I’m not going to grow old in Thom Tillis’s North Carolina.

No, I find it far more welcoming in New York, upstate in the mountains, buried in snow in the winter, the frozen Hudson River, ice spears long and thick enough to kill you if they fall on you. I have my house picked out. I will have a wood stove and working fireplaces and a view of the Catskills and no insane politicians who think that we should have no minimum wage. Yes, we had our joke politicians when I lived in New York…Carl Paladino…but we rose up and voted against him.

North Carolina inevitably votes against its own best interests. I can’t live in such nonsense any longer. It’s too bad. It’s too bad because North Carolina has fantastic cities and history and culture, except for the lying tea party politicians and the people who for whatever reason I cannot fathom believe and follow them.

I have a certain moral code and it does not exist in North Carolina politics, if it ever did.

I saw that morality in New York.

Late last night I heard the highway calling, geese in flight…calling me North.

Perhaps Rush is more appropriate than James Taylor.

Why try? I know why
The feeling inside me says it’s time I was gone
Clear head, new life ahead
It’s time I was king now — not just one more pawn

Fly by night, away from here
Change my life again
Fly by night, goodbye my dear
My ship isn’t coming and I just can’t pretend

Moon rise, thoughtful eyes
Staring back at me from the window beside
No fright or hindsight
Leaving behind that empty feeling inside

Start a new chapter
Find what I’m after
It’s changing every day
The change of a season
Is enough of a reason
To want to get away
Quiet and pensive
My thoughts apprehensive
The hours drift away
Leaving my homeland
Playing a lone hand
My life begins today

One thought on “Calling me North

Leave a Reply

