Hostile comments and why I don’t publish them

Standard

I’ve had people leave hostile, aggressive, abusive comments on my posts and then demand to know why I won’t publish them. Well, why on earth would I? It would be silly and self-defeating. It would be giving antagonistic people a venue to rant when they can go and get their own blogs and rant there. It would be like letting someone hang a banner with a hateful sentiment from my front porch roof, or letting a stranger trash a room in my house. This is MY space. It’s my online house. I’m not letting anyone trash it.

I’m also not going to get into pointless arguments with people who call me names and even threaten me. It’s a waste of my time. I like my blog to be informative and (hopefully) entertaining. I don’t want it cluttered up with nasty comments. I also don’t owe anything to anyone. I’m not required to publish any comments. People get a real sense of entitlement when I won’t publish their comments. It’s bizarre.

I swear. I definitely rant. A lot. But it’s my blog and I can do that. Anyone who wants to rant about whatever their pet peeve may be can get a free blog just like I did and rant there. I can promise you that I’m not going to leave a 1000 word comment telling them how wrong they are. (I’m not even going to read their blog.) And that’s the problem. I’m not going to give them the attention.

Well, into every life, a little rain must fall.

 

Leave a Reply

