National Poetry Writing Month – 4/14

Standard

“I’m calling you because
I haven’t been telling people about this
And I realized I should have
I want you to know that my boyfriend
Is severely abusing me
I know he thinks about it beforehand
Because he hits me in ways that don’t leave marks
One time he had me down in the bushes
Beating on me and I was screaming for help
My son woke up
I thought, he doesn’t need to be raised around this
A woman at work told me that everyone knows
That I go home and get the shit beat out of me
He open-hand slaps me across the face
Because I use too many dishes to make dinner
The cops won’t believe me
Everyone thinks I’m insane
I just want someone to believe me.”

Leave a Reply

