National Poetry Writing Month – 4/26

Standard

Not Valuable Or Relevant

My experiences growing up aren’t valuable or relevant
Because we didn’t have the Internet we I was born
Hell, my family didn’t have color TV when I was born
My mother started school before desegregation
She was one of the first female police officers in our town
My grandfather was born in a log cabin
The first in his family to go to college
Our life experiences aren’t valuable or relevant?
What the hell is wrong with this last generation we’ve raised?
Too little common sense
Too little time in the library reading books
Too much disrespect
Too much entitlement
Too much arrogance.

One thought on “National Poetry Writing Month – 4/26

Leave a Reply

