Juvenile American robin

Standard

What a lucky afternoon. I was sitting on the porch and an adult robin was hopping from branch to branch in a maple tree. It seemed to be having a loud argument with another robin. I thought they were two adult birds fighting over territory but then I took a closer look:

2015 5 25 baby robin

At first I was afraid that the juvenile robin had fallen out of the nest because he/she was obviously very young due to the pinfeathers. But, after I took the picture, the little robin flew away to another tree. One of the parents was teaching it to fly. And much to my relief, it’s old enough to make it.

Leave a Reply

