I hate these posts

Standard

One of my favorite writers, Tanith Lee, died yesterday, May 26, 2015, at the age of 67.

I’ve been reading Ms. Lee’s work since I was about 13, almost 30 years. I started with Red As Blood, her book of twisted short story versions of fairy tales. Ms. Lee wrote a lot of science fiction in her early writing career. I prefer fantasy and horror, so my favorites among her works are the books about werewolves, vampires, and alternate universes.

I probably don’t even consciously know how much effect she had on my writing. It absolutely breaks my heart to know that we’ve lost her. There was no other writer like her, and she was a groundbreaker for women writers who wanted to write science fiction.

If you haven’t read any of Tanith Lee’s work and you like fairy tales, you might like to start with Red As Blood.

If vampires are your goblet of blood, try Personal Darkness.

For a unique and sexy spin on werewolves, Heart-Beast.

For a well-constructed and seductive universe, Tales from the Flat Earth.

If your tastes lean towards the really weird, The Book of the Mad. (If you dip into The Secret Books of Paradys, the series that contains The Book of the Mad, try The Weasel Bride first.)

And probably my favorite, a sold supernatural historical, Elephantasm.

The best way to celebrate an author’s life is to share their work with new readers.

Leave a Reply

