Hold the jokes

Standard

The outright mockery of Go Set a Watchman saddens me because Harper Lee isn’t able to answer questions about it. We don’t even know for certain if she wanted it published, or published as it is. Had she finished revising it, and did she put it away to think about trying to publish it? Was it a first draft? Was it experimental writing? Did she want to keep it, but not want others to read it? I don’t know. I doubt I ever will know what Ms. Lee intended for that manuscript. Someone on Twitter posted that they aren’t going to read it because they don’t know what Harper Lee wanted. I agree with that. I’m not going to read Go Set a Watchman.

I’m also not going to make jokes about it.

Leave a Reply

