The Amazing Disappearing Woman Writer

Standard

The Amazing Disappearing Woman Writer

The above post is a must-read for all women poets, writers, journalists, and artists, especially those of us “of a certain age.” If you’re a woman and you don’t see something of yourself in this article, wait five years. You will.

But while this post is about women writers and poets, it has a lot to say to men. One point that affected me strongly was reaching out to our favorite writers now. I was so devastated when Tanith Lee died, and part of that was because I’d always thought “One day, I’m going to tell her how much her books meant to me and what an influence she’s been to me.” She was never on social media, but I could have done it with a letter. I didn’t. And now I can’t. So now, I contact writers through Twitter, or email, or by putting a letter in the mailbox. I’m gotten some lovely replies, and one writer sent me an autographed card and a copy of her just-released novel. Fan contact is so important to those writers and artists who affected us in our formative years but are now struggling to be heard and seen over all the hullabaloo surrounding The New Trendy Thing.

Last night I sent a complimentary tweet to a journalist in Harney County, Oregon who provides invaluable insight into the militia occupation of the Malheur Wildlife Refuge. She live-tweets the community meetings with the community’s residents, the county sheriff, and the militia members and impartially reports the input of the people who are living with the disruption to their lives. When you see real journalism that you impresses you, send the reporter a note. And don’t wait another day to tell that writer who is a legend to you how much you appreciate them and their work.

2 thoughts on “The Amazing Disappearing Woman Writer

  1. rosie49

    Really terrific and timely post. In this “instant” age, it’s more important than ever to acknowledge that substantive writing takes time and effort. I love 140 characters in Twitter as much as the next person, but journalism and literature take time to both compose and read. … and don’t get me started on the age issue….

    • It took me a couple of months in 2009 to write a first draft, and I’m still polishing it. It’s going to GLOW when I’m done. I have three other complete manuscripts and three about halfway done. I’m 43. I haven’t even gotten in the game yet, but in our “instant age” that you referenced, I’m afraid I’m already disappearing.

Leave a Reply

