What the chickens costs me

Standard

I have two journals, one kept by my grandfather’s uncle from 1914-1915, and the other kept by my grandfather during his teen and college years. My grandfather’s journal has only sporadic entries. They’re both written in railroad “car books,” which were apparently used by (railroad) car mechanics at railroad repair stations, or shops. My grandfather’s uncle worked as a car mechanic. He got my grandfather a job with the railroad. My grandfather went from fireman to engineer. I’ve taken a few pictures of the journals and a couple of the memorable entries from my grandfather’s journal.

IMG_5009

IMG_5007

IMG_5005

IMG_5011

IMG_5013

Leave a Reply

