Monster High reboot redux

Standard

I’ve been very vocal about my distaste for the Monster High reboot. There was nothing wrong with the original dolls. I gave two new Frankies to a friend of mine with two little girls. I did not personally like those Frankies because side by side with original Frankie, they just seemed blank:

IMG_3511

This new Frankie doesn’t have articulated arms. And the Frankie on the right isn’t the original Frankie, it’s Geek Shriek Frankie, but you can see what I mean. One has personality. One doesn’t.

I looked at new Frankies and Clawdeens tonight and they all had bland faces with slightly surprised expressions. This particular Frankie looks as if someone new to faceups did her eyes:

Boltin’ Bicycle Frankie Stein, available on Amazon

That’s just really terrible makeup. I guess you can’t expect much from a $20 doll with bicycle included.

And this new Frankie looks like a Frankie/Rochelle hybrid:

Voltageous Hair Frankie Stein

Again, this is a doll set with a really cheap looking doll. Now here’s Clawdeen:

Monster High Ghoul-La-La Locker Vehicle with Clawdeen Wolf Doll

Another baby face. And I’ll mail you a dollar if you unbox one with hair that in any way resembles that perfect style.

Now let’s look at new Draculaura. Two great new Draculauras:

Monster High Ghoul-to-Bat Transformation Draculaura Doll

Monster High Welcome To Monster High Fangtastic Draculaura Doll

I want both of these Draculauras. Am I just biased towards vampires? Yes, but here’s a yucky new Draculaura:

Monster High Ghoul Spirit Draculaura Doll

The only thing that saves her from being totally boring are her fangs. And the cheap fabrics . . . don’t get me started.

It almost seems that the Draculaura with articulated arms has a different face mold from the Draculaura with the stiff arms. So does that mean there is some hope for the Monster High reboot? I really want that to be the case. And I don’t mind eating crow at all if they put out more dolls with the lively faces like Ghoul – to – Bat Draculaura.

Leave a Reply

