The Children’s Librarian

Standard

I read little, if any, YA. If I do, it’s most likely a favorite book from when I was a kid. But I remember hundreds of days spent happily in the “children’s library” and how the librarian was always nice and helped me find books that she knew I would like because she knew what I liked to read. She never discouraged me from checking out a paper grocery bag full of books because she knew that I would read them all and return them in a couple of days.

The last couple of days I’ve read a lot of tweets from YA librarians about making plans to help children deal with what’s happened this week. Today, there’s been a lot of talk about making sure children know the library is still safe. I think that’s amazing. I think that the revolution will start in libraries, and probably in the children’s library.

Leave a Reply

